Passion 4 Punk – It’s not just the money

It’s been a busy few weeks in the lead up to the launch show for the Passion 4 Punk book.  I’ve been busy online and off, promoting the book and the launch show.  There have been a couple of media articles in the local newspapers so far and lots of positive discussion on Facebook.  All of this activity has got me thinking.

When I first came up with the idea for the Passion 4 Punk book it was simply about raising some money for suicide prevention charities.  I came up with the idea because I was feeling pretty helpless after a friend committed suicide last year.  I envisioned I’d get permission from a few bands to use some of the images I had captured, throw together the book and just quietly sell them online, donating whatever I made from the sales to mental health charities.  It was very much a solo project.

What I’ve come to realise, particularly in the last few weeks is that I’m not the only one who has felt helpless when losing a friend or family member to suicide, or indeed at times, felt so little hope that the thought of suicide became a potential solution to my own problems.

The amazing generosity and support that I have received from people in response to this project and the subsequent discussions about the nature of loss has become just as important as the act of raising money for some charities.  In the past few weeks I have witnessed people share their own experiences of loss, and watched as people have reached out to others to either offer or receive help.  Money helps organisations to help people, but what I have witnessed is people just… well… helping people.

While I may have initially envisioned the Passion 4 Punk project as an isolated initiative, it’s really not.  It’s all of you that makes it what it is.

I’m pretty sure I’m going to have a good old cry at the launch show.  Joe Guiton’s lyrics always remind me of that sense of loss, but I will also probably shed a tear or two of happiness as well, because I know I’m going to be surrounded by a bunch of people doing an amazing thing – caring for each other.

I guess in this little ramble I’m having, I am trying to say two things:

  • Firstly, thank you, thank you, thank you! (I can’t say that enough!)
  • Secondly, I have no doubt that there will be many who will be feeling quite raw at the launch show, so please look after yourselves and look after each other.

The Passion for Punk Book Launch:

2:30pm 16th April – 3:00am 17th April 2016, Last Chance Rock ‘n’ Roll Bar, 238 Victoria Street North Melbourne

https://www.facebook.com/events/1718755648393720/